The Legends Game

EJ Whitten Legends Game Heads to Adelaide Oval

Adelaide set to host 2018 EJ Whitten Legends Game

Some of the greatest AFL champions will take to the Adelaide Oval when the Chemist Warehouse EJ Whitten Legends Game heads to South Australia on Friday 31 August, 2018.

The AFL and EJ Whitten Foundation are excited to announce the match at the iconic Adelaide Oval as well as the appointment of the All Stars captain and coach today. Again in 2018, Chemist Warehouse are proud to be naming rights partner of the game, who are supporting the Foundation together with Go Healthy Vitamins.

Adelaide Crows two-time premiership coach, Malcolm Blight will coach the All Stars, and Port Adelaide Football Club premiership hero Chad Cornes will lead the team as the charity game heads interstate for the first time since 1999.

“The Messiah” Malcolm Blight has a long list of VFL/SANFL/AFL accolades; Blight is a Brownlow Medallist (1978), Coleman Medallist (1983), two-time All Australian (1972 and 1985), Inaugural Australian Football Hall of Fame inductee elevated to Legend status in 2017, and coached the Adelaide Football Club to their back-to-back premierships in 1997 and 1998.

Cornes is a name synonymous with football in South Australia. Chad played in the Port Adelaide 2004 premiership team and finished third in the Brownlow Medal count that year. He was named in the All Australian team in 2004 and again in 2007, and is now a part of the Port Adelaide Football Club coaching team.

Crows legend Malcolm Blight is excited to coach the All Stars for the game at Adelaide Oval and help raise awareness for men’s health.

“The EJ Whitten Legends Game is a great opportunity for stars of the sport to come together and support the EJ Whitten Foundation,” Blight said.

“It’s a fantastic opportunity to take the game to the Adelaide Oval and The All Stars team is looking strong this year; we have pulled together some of the best retired players from around the country and we’re ready to take on the Vics.”

Cornes is looking forward to leading the All Stars team and taking on the Victorians away from the home of football.

“The Vics took the game last year in a remarkable finish and without their home ground advantage, it’s going to be a close match at Adelaide Oval,” Cornes said.

In true State of Origin style, the Victorian’s have chosen to keep their captain and coach under wraps to announce back on home territory on Friday 20 July, during the St Kilda v Richmond match at Etihad Stadium.

For the 2018 game, The EJ Whitten Foundation will be teaming up with local South Australian Charity, The Little Heroes Foundation run by the inaugural Adelaide Football Club captain Chris McDermott which supports seriously ill children and their families, by raising funds for essential equipment and services.

The Chemist Warehouse EJ Whitten Legends Game will be broadcast live nationally from 7.30PM AEST on Channel 7, 7mate and Fox Footy. Telstra will also stream the match live via the AFL Live App.

Tickets for the Chemist Warehouse EJ Whitten Legends Game are available to purchase via 

Kids under 15 are free and fans are encouraged to purchase tickets online and arrive early, with an anticipated high demand for general admission tickets.

Major Partners


EJ Whitten Legends Game 2018 Squads

Victoria Squad List All Stars Squad List

Coach: Terry Wallace

Assistant Coach: Phil Maylin

Captain: Brad Johnson

Coach: Malcolm Blight

Captain: Chad Cornes

Adem Yze

Anthony Koutoufides

Austinn Jones

Ben Johnson

Brad Johnson

Brent Guerra

Brett Montgomery

Campbell Brown

Chris Johnson

Daniel Giansiracusa

Daniel Harford

Drew Petrie

Dustin Fletcher

Jess Sinclair

Joel Smith

Josh Gibson

Jude Bolton

Luke Power

Mark Graham

Matthew Lappin

Matthew Primus

Paul Dimattina

Ted Richards

Tony Brown

Travis Cloke

Tom Lonergan

Tony Liberatore

Will Minson

Adam Cooney

Adrian Fletcher

Alan Didak

Andrew Embley

Andrew Jarman

Andrew Mcleod

Ash McGrath

Brent Staker

Brett Ebert

Brian Lake

Cameron Mooney

Chad Cornes

Daniel Motlop

Dean Brogan

Dennis Armfield

Lewis Roberts-Thompson

Mark Bickley

Nathan Bock

Paul Haselby

Paul Williams

Phil Matera

Richard Champion

Scott Thompson

Sean Wellman

Shaun McManus

Shaun Smith

Tony Modra

Troy Luff


Broadcast Partners


E.J Whitten Legend’s Game Results

1996 All Stars 13.9 (87) d Victoria 10.13 (73) Mark Mickan (AS)
1997 Victoria 10.11 (71) d All Stars 7.10 (52) Dermott Brereton (Vic)
1998 Victoria 8.6 (54) d All Stars 7.10 (52) Danny Frawley ( Vic)
1999 All Stars 8.8 (56) d Victoria 7.12 (54) Michael Conlan (AS)
2000 Victoria 6.2 (38) drew with All Stars 5.8 (38) Simon Atkins ( AS)
2001* All Stars 7.5 (47) d Victoria 6.11 (47) John Platten ( AS)
2002 All Stars 10.8 (68) d Victoria 10.3 (63) Troy Luff ( AS)
2003 ** Victoria 1. 10.7 (76) d All Stars 3.6.12 (75) Ang Christou ( Vic)
2004 All Stars 1.12.4 (85) d Victoria 3.7.7 (76) Scott Cummings ( AS)
2005 Victoria 3.9.6 (87) d All Stars 0.10.9 (69) John Platten ( AS)
2006 Victoria 1.15.8 (107) d All Stars 5.7.15 (102) Justin Murphy ( Vic)
2007 All Stars 0.13.7 (85) d Victoria 1.9.7 (70) Tony Liberatore ( Vic)
2008 All Stars 1.11.15 (80) d Victoria 1.10.9 (78) Darryl White ( AS)
2009 Victoria 0.13.9 (87) d All Stars 0.11.6 (72) Bryan Strauchan ( Vic)
2010 All Stars 2.11.7 (91) d Victoria 0.12.12 (84) Sam Newman ( Vic)
2011 Victoria 4.12.3 (111) d All Stars 2.14.7 (109) Brodie Holland ( AS)
2012 Victoria 1.15.3 (102) d All Stars 2.12.6 (96) Brendan Fevola ( Vic)
2013 Victoria 1.11.10 (85) d All Stars 0.12.7 (79) Matthew Lloyd ( Vic)
2014 Victoria 0.15.6 (96) d All Stars 2.10.10 (88) Matthew Lloyd ( Vic)
2015 All Stars 2.11.11 (95) d Victoria 0.11.5 (71) Shane Crawford
2016 *** Victoria 1.23.9(156) d All Stars 2.18.16 (142) Barry Hall ( Vic)
2017 Vic 4. 19. 6 (156) v SA 0. 24.11 (155) Jonathan Brown ( Vic)

* All Stars won in a kick off
** Super Goal Introduced ( nine points for a goal kicked outside 50 m)
*** Victoria won in a kick off

Buy your tickets now – $20 Adult, Kids under 15 FREE

Community Awareness Program

EJ Whitten Community



Join our Program


Latest News

E.J. Whitten AFL Grand Final Lunch

Save the Date 25 September 2019 to celebrate AFL Grand Final Week in the most entertaining lunch of the week. The E.J. Whitten Foundation AFL Grand Final Lunch at Melbourne Convention and Entertainment Centre on Wednesday 25th September 2019.

Simple Share Buttons